12 replies to this topic
Posted 2009-04-04 18:25:49
I believe that if you sync, any songs that are on your Ipod but not the PC your are syncing with will be deleted. I have set my IPod to manage all my songs manually after having lost everything after an automatic sync. That way I choose what to sync without losing anything.
Posted 2009-04-04 18:58:49
Thanks for your reply but I think you've misunerstood me
I've got music on my ipod in storage, not as playable music directly from the iPod, it's this I'm worried about deleting if I choose to sync, hope that better explains it...
Posted 2009-04-04 19:53:00
I dont know the answer to your question but if its merely file transfer you are after you can use poddox. It doesn't "sync" anything and works simply to transfer files from the computer to the IPOD and vice versa.
Posted 2009-04-04 20:05:08
Thanks for your reply too!
However, it's not just a simple file trasfer, I want to be sure that my stored data on the ipod won't be erased along with the syncing of the ipod - only the playable songs in the ipod 'CONTROL' folders...
Posted 2009-04-04 20:20:39
I believe Poddox can also be used for file deletion, so you can delete only those files on your Ipod that you want.
Posted 2009-04-05 10:39:37
I'm not sure exactly what your problem is, but I may have had something similar yesterday. I had a clean PC that I wanted to link my i-pod to . My i-pod already had 7Gig of music that I wanted to keep. After a bit of research and messing I managed it without loosing anything. If that sounds similar I can explain.
Posted 2009-04-06 13:26:45
Thanks for all your suggestions, even though I dont think my problem was fully understood
iPods are used as Hard drive storage as well as being music players, I had been using my iPod as storage but my itunes-uploaded music had been wiped(after being plugged into a freinds iBook!) so I wanted to upload all of my music via itunes back onto my iPod without deleting the data stored on the HD section of my iPod...
I bit the bullet and went for it, my iPod updated/sync'd after hours of 'syncing' and all of my data on the HD was still there at the end.
So, to answer my own question: NO, SYNCING YOUR IPOD WITH A PC DOES NOT DELETE THE DATA STORED ON THE HD SECTION OF YOUR IPOD(but does obviously overwright all existing itunes-uploaded music from previous sync/pc)
Posted 2009-04-06 13:41:08
You need to untick the sync box that says sync with computer before connecting your ipod so that it doesn't happen again
Happened to a friend of mine and its one of the reasons I don't bother with Itunes.
Posted 2009-04-06 14:08:07
Thanks SBK but I'm being misunderstood again
I wanted to sync but didn't want to lose the DATA stored on the HD section of my iPod - not bothered about the itunes music as it was all about to be transferred to the iPod once again...
I assume most people who commented here don't use their iPod as storage - only as music players - so perhaps didn't understand my issue.
But problem solved so thanks to all for your suggestions
Posted 2009-04-06 14:12:13
No, I understood, just commenting that you had lost all your songs by syncing with a friends computer and the way to avoid that in the future.
Posted 2009-04-06 14:52:15
I didn't sync with my friends Mac, we just plugged it in to see if it was recognised because it wasn't being recognised by my old dinosaur of a laptop but it just wiped the iPod clean, if we'd sync'd it then it would have been full of his music, as a result of plugging it into his Mac it was later recognised my my laptop so not a problem in the end
Posted 2009-04-30 07:44:07
Rich - I could really use your help! I have a lot of songs, photos & video on my ipod but my hard drive crashed. Upon replacing it, I have an empty library at i-tunes. I want to start adding new items, but I'm afraid when I sync up I will lose the data already on my ipod. How did you avoid that?