Jump to content

Listen to Pattaya FM105

View New Content  

Scams Hit Thai Visa Classified's


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Mali1964

Mali1964

    Senior Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 677 posts

Posted 2009-05-06 14:02:56

Not sure if other's have experienced this but looks like those Nigerians are reading Thai visa classifieds so beware.

Message i received this morning.





Hello, dear user Shaun Leigh,

You've got a message through our classified ads site Thaivisa   from abraham_nome@yahoo.com, as a reply to your ad with this title Harvester for Hire.

Subject: Investment

Message:
investment
Sir,



My Name is Abraham am seriously confused what investment to put our family inheritance from our late father, am here in UAE but their houses and other investment is very diffcult for me to follow. Please i need your ideas and advice on best investment in your country so i can invite you here in DUBAI in person face to face talk so we can sign contract agreement and trust this funds to your care .I really need honest person who can be honest to me and my only sister for all investment we does. The money we got from our late father is 6.3m dollars is now in DUBAI but we need a honest person to assist us.

Write me email (abraham_nome@yahoo.com ) call me also to show me serious u are 00971556173571

Abraham

Edited by Mali1964, 2009-05-06 14:03:54.


#2 apetley

apetley

    Platinum Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,277 posts

Posted 2009-05-06 14:30:30

Has he sent you the airfare yet?

#3 Mali1964

Mali1964

    Senior Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 677 posts

Posted 2009-05-06 14:36:59

View Postapetley, on 2009-05-06 15:30:30, said:

Has he sent you the airfare yet?

No not yet i wonder which of those fantastic hotels he'll put me up in i'm getting all excited now thinking about it :)

#4 Maizefarmer

Maizefarmer

    Platinum Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,746 posts

Posted 2009-05-06 15:30:31

View PostMali1964, on 2009-05-06 14:02:56, said:

Not sure if other's have experienced this but looks like those Nigerians are reading Thai visa classifieds so beware.

Message i received this morning.





Hello, dear user Shaun Leigh,

You've got a message through our classified ads site Thaivisa   from abraham_nome@yahoo.com, as a reply to your ad with this title Harvester for Hire.

Subject: Investment

Message:
investment
Sir,



My Name is Abraham am seriously confused what investment to put our family inheritance from our late father, am here in UAE but their houses and other investment is very diffcult for me to follow. Please i need your ideas and advice on best investment in your country so i can invite you here in DUBAI in person face to face talk so we can sign contract agreement and trust this funds to your care .I really need honest person who can be honest to me and my only sister for all investment we does. The money we got from our late father is 6.3m dollars is now in DUBAI but we need a honest person to assist us.

Write me email (abraham_nome@yahoo.com ) call me also to show me serious u are 00971556173571

Abraham


Its a scam - I get laos of similar sent to my Thai website email box.

#5 pitcha

pitcha

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 2009-05-06 21:11:33

Well, I just got one, too...
I am so excited to be traveling to UAE! Please, the most luxurious hotel for me and my girl!  :)
BTW, don't forget, free ABF for both of us!

#6 ThaiPauly

ThaiPauly

    MadmenMember

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,547 posts

Posted 2009-05-07 13:03:22

Ask for a photoshoped picture of him so you know who to look outfor at the airport when you land  LOL

#7 GungaDin

GungaDin

    Faster, faster......They're bugs, not braces...

  • RIP
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,433 posts

Posted 2009-05-12 21:36:16

Hmm, makes a change from the moron who was advertising non-existant m/cs and cars last month. :)

If the phone doesn't ring, it will be a moron's ad.

Apologies to Jimmy Buffet. :D

#8 GungaDin

GungaDin

    Faster, faster......They're bugs, not braces...

  • RIP
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,433 posts

Posted 2009-06-08 14:38:39

http://classifieds.t...uovo-24726.html

Phone number does not exist.  :)

#9 sbk

sbk

    Mistress Whiplash

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,280 posts

Posted 2009-06-09 05:47:06

Unfortunately, we have no way of verifying the accuracy of ads posted. Instead of posting here an email to support would be far more helpful.

#10 Jungian

Jungian

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts

Posted 2009-06-09 06:06:34

I honestly do not understand these scams. I don't know how someone smart enough to use a computer could fall for something like that and this is only the first stage of the scam. I have actually replied to one of these years ago to see where it would end up and what they would ask me for but it came to a dead end quickly and they didn't respond to me.

#11 Maverell

Maverell

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 179 posts

Posted 2009-06-20 14:54:37

The problem with 419 Scams and their continued existence is that people DO reply AND lose a lot of money.

So if the scammer sends out 1 million emails and gets a couple mugs to part with 10000 USD  each he will continue. Not bad for a few minutes work.

#12 stagger

stagger

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts

Posted 2009-06-20 15:13:32

Google - Lads from Lagos

Lots of information on the scammers and their latest methods!



 


Sponsored By:
Quick Navigation   View New Content Site search: