Royal Thai Police Block ?
|
155 replies to this topic
#2Posted 2009-08-20 11:45:03
Someone else was complaining about the same thing in the internet forum yesterday..
#3Posted 2009-08-20 11:48:16
No.
ISP, urls? #5Posted 2009-08-20 12:05:23
Sorry, the web site you are accessing has been closed by Royal Thai Police due to inappropriateness such as pornography, gambling or contain any information which is deemed to violate national security.
Just the first time I log into any email account. After login with username and password the message appears. If I refresh or close the browser and login again the message goes away. You just get one chance to view the message. hotmail and yahoo #6Posted 2009-08-20 12:30:28
yeah we're getting that message when just updating our blogs...
#8Posted 2009-08-20 12:42:31
I was reading BBC news page this morning. I clicked on a topic and went to a different page to read about spurs game last night and then when I pressed return to go back to the home page I got the dreaded thai police message. I then rebooted BBC news and read all the news items but couldnt find anything derogatory to Thailand.
HL #9Posted 2009-08-20 13:15:58
Last month while in Bangkok I subscribed to the wireless service provided by the apartment we stayed in. I could only
send emails (AOL) that were only a few lines long. Most of the time it took repeated tries to send a simple email. I couldn't even save drafted messages. Trading on eBay was a nightmare. Frequent "unable to connect"messages were the norm for one month. Now my suspicions have been confirmed. Told the wife no more visits for me until they stop this silly nonsense. Thailand needs to get serious about what is a threat to national security and what isn't. #10Posted 2009-08-20 18:45:57
Could anyone do me a favour and test this URL from within Thailand and let me know if it is accessible - the domain hasn't been resolving. The IP address works fine though, maybe this is just a problem with 'True ADSL'
http://www.mycyberhosting.net It didn't give the police warning but was unreachable, I suspect there is a problem with the True DNS service and somehow there are a whole bunch of domains missing from it, I can't help thinking it's related to some kind of cock up with their censorship system although I could be wrong. I'm not in Thailand at the moment so can't run any more tests myself. This is a website which belongs to a colleague of mine and we have had reports from various people who can't access any of our servers from within Thailand, it's almost as if they have blocked an entire web host for some reason. Edit : It's working fine from England at the moment. Edited by ukrules, 2009-08-20 18:46:28. #11Posted 2009-08-20 18:48:34
Moved to internet forum branch.
#12Posted 2009-08-20 18:56:07
Could anyone do me a favour and test this URL from within Thailand and let me know if it is accessible - the domain hasn't been resolving. The IP address works fine though, maybe this is just a problem with 'True ADSL' http://www.mycyberhosting.net It didn't give the police warning but was unreachable, I suspect there is a problem with the True DNS service and somehow there are a whole bunch of domains missing from it, I can't help thinking it's related to some kind of cock up with their censorship system although I could be wrong. I'm not in Thailand at the moment so can't run any more tests myself. This is a website which belongs to a colleague of mine and we have had reports from various people who can't access any of our servers from within Thailand, it's almost as if they have blocked an entire web host for some reason. Edit : It's working fine from England at the moment. It's opening fine for me on Maxnet in Chiang Mai. #13Posted 2009-08-20 18:56:58
2 hours ago when I tried to upload a photo onto my ThaiVisa post, I received the message:
Sorry, the web site you are accessing has been closed by Royal Thai Police due to inappropriateness such as pornography, gambling or contain any information which is deemed to violate national security. Refreshed the page and the photo had already uploaded, the message disappeared. Yep, something weird is going on. Just done an experiment and managed to obtain the message again while accessing ThaiVisa. Screenprint below: Attached FilesEdited by sassienie, 2009-08-20 19:08:57. #14Posted 2009-08-20 19:01:34
Could anyone do me a favour and test this URL from within Thailand and let me know if it is accessible - the domain hasn't been resolving. The IP address works fine though, maybe this is just a problem with 'True ADSL' http://www.mycyberhosting.net It didn't give the police warning but was unreachable, I suspect there is a problem with the True DNS service and somehow there are a whole bunch of domains missing from it, I can't help thinking it's related to some kind of cock up with their censorship system although I could be wrong. I'm not in Thailand at the moment so can't run any more tests myself. This is a website which belongs to a colleague of mine and we have had reports from various people who can't access any of our servers from within Thailand, it's almost as if they have blocked an entire web host for some reason. Edit : It's working fine from England at the moment. Not loading on my True ADSL either (tested with opendns, level 3 dns and true dns), but then again google.com and yahoo.com have trouble loading right now too. Try using the proxy.trueinternet.co.th:8080 proxy or www.hidemybox.com webproxy. Using the webproxy the site loads fine for me. #15Posted 2009-08-20 19:13:45
ukrules with the regular true ip it says "Server Not Found" and if i use proxy.asianet.co.th i get this:
Network Error (dns_server_failure) Your request could not be processed because an error occurred contacting the DNS server. The DNS server may be temporarily unavailable, or there could be a network problem. For assistance, contact your network support team. I'm using openDNS. #16Posted 2009-08-20 19:22:04
Glad im not the only one, thought they were on to me,.
#17Posted 2009-08-20 19:28:42
Strangely, I have had the opposite experience today, previously blocked sites are now open.
#18Posted 2009-08-20 19:59:16
Anyone find an answer to this yet? It's been happening to me infrequently since last night. I have Maxnet in Chiang Mai. It's not often, and not tied to one website.
#19Posted 2009-08-20 20:20:20
Could anyone do me a favour and test this URL from within Thailand and let me know if it is accessible - the domain hasn't been resolving. The IP address works fine though, maybe this is just a problem with 'True ADSL' http://www.mycyberhosting.net It didn't give the police warning but was unreachable, I suspect there is a problem with the True DNS service and somehow there are a whole bunch of domains missing from it, I can't help thinking it's related to some kind of cock up with their censorship system although I could be wrong. I'm not in Thailand at the moment so can't run any more tests myself. This is a website which belongs to a colleague of mine and we have had reports from various people who can't access any of our servers from within Thailand, it's almost as if they have blocked an entire web host for some reason. Edit : It's working fine from England at the moment. No problem with CSloxinfo #20Posted 2009-08-20 20:47:29
"http://www.mycyberhosting.net"
No problem with TOT. #21Posted 2009-08-20 21:01:55
Thanks for running these tests for me, it's strange that some people can access it but others can't, especially the openDNS service, the DNS server is up and running ok so we don't understand why only some people can't access it.
I guess they must be messing with network traffic at some ISPs, especially True. Medegen : Any idea why it is doing this with openDNs, are they using some kind of low level packet filtering to intercept DNS requests ? Is that likely ? We know the DNS server is definitely working ok and from what's being reported this affects lots of servers (hundreds of them), all on the same DNS server. #22Posted 2009-08-20 21:48:58
Had the same issue when I was upcountry last month and connected via mobile, used Ais and Dtac. Got the same message in thai. Cleaned cashe, try again, still that warning. Next day no problem. Some days later same problem again.
#23Posted 2009-08-20 22:31:31
My Maxnet Premier Internet connection went down about midnight Wednesday night. Thursday morning it was not working so my wife called TT&T in Buriram and they said that they were working on Maxnet and everyone was down. In the afternoon it worked fine, but clicking a link on www.pcmagazine.com at 9:30p.m. tonight that same message appeared. Only once, but very strange. Banking, Ebay, newspapers from USA, Gmail, Google, Yahoo, Hotmail all fine, but even once to receive that sort of message is very indicative of the strange aspects of L.O.S.
#24Posted 2009-08-20 23:19:03
Posts have been removed for breaches of forum rules, being extremely negative or speaking in derogatory terms about Thai's will not be tolerated.
As per forum rule 8) Not to post extremely negative views of Thailand or derogatory comments directed towards all Thais. #25Posted 2009-08-21 08:43:32
Same message a couple of times browsing Thaivisa, couple of times checking on a couple of UK financial sites too.
Clicking refresh got past the message. Purely for research I checked a well known 'adult' site, no problem at all. |
Sponsored by:
|














