Jump to content




View New Content Help  
Photo
- - - - -

Register My Sim Card?


16 replies to this topic

#1 JusMe

JusMe

    Super Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,260 posts

Posted 2011-05-31 17:44:23

Okay, I've finally succumbed and bought one of the bloody things. Got a cheapie that will hold two SIM cards, one for here and the other for North America. It's a four band phone, so should be okay both places.

Been playing with it for a couple days now.

When I dial *102*9# to check my own number, I get the message: "08XXXXXXXX active for OYOM5D but SIM card has not been registered."

So I sent an email to DTAC asking about it, and I'll give them credit, got an pretty quick answer.

"OYOM5D is year, month, date that you use this number. It is about 5 days. Please kindly be advised that now your number has not been registered yet, so you may register simcard by presenting your passport at dtac service hall nearby."

Interesting.

But now my question is, do I need to register my number somewhere? I'm nowhere near any DTAC service hall, no matter that it's supposed to be "nearby." What are the advantages? Necessities of registering it somewhere, somehow?

[Edit] took the phone number out and replaced it with Xs.

As I said, I'm a complete and total noob with these things, and basically dislike them intensely, so please, keep any answers as simple as possible, suitable for my simplicity!
:rolleyes:

Edited by monty, 2013-02-01 07:13:45.
Increased font size for readability.


#2 Jiu-Jitsu

Jiu-Jitsu

    Platinum Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,794 posts

Posted 2011-05-31 22:08:26

Perhaps if you register for web services it can have the same effect. At least Web Services are useful. You can use any details when you register.

#3 cnx355

cnx355

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 203 posts

Posted 2011-06-01 08:46:57

Just go to any official DTAC office and register the simm card your name.

If you loose your phone or simm card it is then easy to get a duplicate with the same number as your are the registered user.

#4 JusMe

JusMe

    Super Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,260 posts

Posted 2011-06-01 11:47:55

Just go to any official DTAC office and register the simm card your name.

If you loose your phone or simm card it is then easy to get a duplicate with the same number as your are the registered user.


Thanks. But I'm not off on a 25 km ride just to register my card at the correct office in Rayong city. Kinda hoped it could be done either over the internet or at a local little shop here in Ban Phe.

And now I hope that non-registration doesn't have any effect unless I lose the phone and/or card.

#5 Jiu-Jitsu

Jiu-Jitsu

    Platinum Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,794 posts

Posted 2011-06-01 11:51:54


Just go to any official DTAC office and register the simm card your name.

If you loose your phone or simm card it is then easy to get a duplicate with the same number as your are the registered user.


Thanks. But I'm not off on a 25 km ride just to register my card at the correct office in Rayong city. Kinda hoped it could be done either over the internet or at a local little shop here in Ban Phe.

And now I hope that non-registration doesn't have any effect unless I lose the phone and/or card.


Did you follow my suggestion?

#6 Phil Conners

Phil Conners

    Bald Member

  • Honorary Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,317 posts

Posted 2011-06-01 12:30:09

I'm quite sure you have to go to a DTAC shop and present your passport. It was made law a few years ago that everybody must register their sim. At the time they would disable your sim if you did not register it within a certain timeframe but I don't know if they still do that.

Why don't you call their helpdesk and ask? The number is 1678 from your mobile. They are normally very helpful and speak excellent English.

#7 JusMe

JusMe

    Super Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,260 posts

Posted 2011-06-01 17:21:23



Just go to any official DTAC office and register the simm card your name.

If you loose your phone or simm card it is then easy to get a duplicate with the same number as your are the registered user.


Thanks. But I'm not off on a 25 km ride just to register my card at the correct office in Rayong city. Kinda hoped it could be done either over the internet or at a local little shop here in Ban Phe.

And now I hope that non-registration doesn't have any effect unless I lose the phone and/or card.


Did you follow my suggestion?



I'm not in the slightest interested in web services at all, so don't plan on registering for anything there.



#8 JusMe

JusMe

    Super Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,260 posts

Posted 2011-06-01 17:23:12

I'm quite sure you have to go to a DTAC shop and present your passport. It was made law a few years ago that everybody must register their sim. At the time they would disable your sim if you did not register it within a certain timeframe but I don't know if they still do that.

Why don't you call their helpdesk and ask? The number is 1678 from your mobile. They are normally very helpful and speak excellent English.


Curious the guy in the little street shop that sold me the card didn't mention anything about having to register it! Posted Image

I'll wait for a bit and see how it's working. If necessary, I'll call that 1678 number, but when I did try once - and I was probably pressing the wrong keys - I couldn't get the #7 extension for English.

#9 Jiu-Jitsu

Jiu-Jitsu

    Platinum Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,794 posts

Posted 2011-06-01 17:58:05




Just go to any official DTAC office and register the simm card your name.

If you loose your phone or simm card it is then easy to get a duplicate with the same number as your are the registered user.


Thanks. But I'm not off on a 25 km ride just to register my card at the correct office in Rayong city. Kinda hoped it could be done either over the internet or at a local little shop here in Ban Phe.

And now I hope that non-registration doesn't have any effect unless I lose the phone and/or card.


Did you follow my suggestion?



I'm not in the slightest interested in web services at all, so don't plan on registering for anything there.


I guess some people just can't take a hint..... :whistling:

#10 khman

khman

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 469 posts

Posted 2013-01-31 22:42:46

Hi,
I want to register too but when I go to
http://www.dtac.co.t...registre.html#1
And enter my number and click the button this has no effect...
Thanks

#11 lomatopo

lomatopo

    Star Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,402 posts

Posted 2013-02-01 10:02:56

I think you have to register for eServices first:

https://dtaceservice...e&step=checkCLI

#12 Chicog

Chicog

    Star Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,800 posts

Posted 2013-02-02 00:07:01

The square headed one once told the phone companies to disable all SIMs that weren't registered - something to do with them being used to detonate bombs in the South.

But I think someone pointed out to him what a colossal waste of time it was, and they don't enforce it now. I bought a couple of 1-2-Call SIMs last year and I've never been asked for any identity information.

They probably want your info to spam you.

#13 khman

khman

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 469 posts

Posted 2013-02-02 01:18:15

I registered today both my AIS and DTAC providing my passport to respective shops.
This is also needed to transfer line from an operator to another...
But yes, before this my AIS run for maybe 2 years without being registered... If a day they really need I think they will text or call us before canceling the subscription!

#14 YipYipYa123

YipYipYa123

    Super Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,125 posts

Posted 2013-02-02 02:20:58

I'm quite sure you have to go to a DTAC shop and present your passport. It was made law a few years ago that everybody must register their sim. At the time they would disable your sim if you did not register it within a certain timeframe but I don't know if they still do that.

Why don't you call their helpdesk and ask? The number is 1678 from your mobile. They are normally very helpful and speak excellent English.


my AIS sim was disabled one day and just showing a letter R (restricted i presumed ) where the 3g or h+ usually was and no bars of call signal either
i went into 12call shop and told them my sim is not working ,straight away without even checking it she started opening a brand new sim package
and gave me a form to fill out with my personal info
asked me for ID and i told her i have not any so they just accepted the name i wrote down was correct but i could have wrote anything

seems like they do deactivate sim cards sometimes in an attempt to get everyones details

#15 lomatopo

lomatopo

    Star Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,402 posts

Posted 2013-02-02 08:28:59

The square headed one once told the phone companies to disable all SIMs that weren't registered - something to do with them being used to detonate bombs in the South.

But I think someone pointed out to him what a colossal waste of time it was, and they don't enforce it now. I bought a couple of 1-2-Call SIMs last year and I've never been asked for any identity information.

They probably want your info to spam you.



I believe every SIM needs to be registered in the four troubled southern provinces or service is denied.

Back in 2006 everyone did have to register their SIM or risk losing service.

Registering a SIM does have some advantages: makes replacement easier in the case of loss or theft, makes MNP easier, typically allows for increased self-account management.

The NBTC is still pushing operators hard to register all SIMs - and fining them for not doing so. Maybe the "carrot" will be increased validity?



my AIS sim was disabled one day and just showing a letter R (restricted i presumed ) where the 3g or h+ usually was and no bars of call signal either
i went into 12call shop and told them my sim is not working ,straight away without even checking it she started opening a brand new sim package
and gave me a form to fill out with my personal info
asked me for ID and i told her i have not any so they just accepted the name i wrote down was correct but i could have wrote anything

seems like they do deactivate sim cards sometimes in an attempt to get everyones details


On many phones a "R" in the display indicates Roaming, which is possible on AIS/One-2-Call as they have a roaming agreement with TOT. Additionally, "SIM exhaustion" can lead to issues with connectivity; I had to replace an old (~ 7 years) AIS/One-2-Call SIM due to this problem.

I have not heard of any operator disabling SIMs in an effort to get users to register, but maybe they have their eye on you?

#16 YipYipYa123

YipYipYa123

    Super Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,125 posts

Posted 2013-02-03 20:49:32


The square headed one once told the phone companies to disable all SIMs that weren't registered - something to do with them being used to detonate bombs in the South.

But I think someone pointed out to him what a colossal waste of time it was, and they don't enforce it now. I bought a couple of 1-2-Call SIMs last year and I've never been asked for any identity information.

They probably want your info to spam you.



I believe every SIM needs to be registered in the four troubled southern provinces or service is denied.

Back in 2006 everyone did have to register their SIM or risk losing service.

Registering a SIM does have some advantages: makes replacement easier in the case of loss or theft, makes MNP easier, typically allows for increased self-account management.

The NBTC is still pushing operators hard to register all SIMs - and fining them for not doing so. Maybe the "carrot" will be increased validity?



my AIS sim was disabled one day and just showing a letter R (restricted i presumed ) where the 3g or h+ usually was and no bars of call signal either
i went into 12call shop and told them my sim is not working ,straight away without even checking it she started opening a brand new sim package
and gave me a form to fill out with my personal info
asked me for ID and i told her i have not any so they just accepted the name i wrote down was correct but i could have wrote anything

seems like they do deactivate sim cards sometimes in an attempt to get everyones details


On many phones a "R" in the display indicates Roaming, which is possible on AIS/One-2-Call as they have a roaming agreement with TOT. Additionally, "SIM exhaustion" can lead to issues with connectivity; I had to replace an old (~ 7 years) AIS/One-2-Call SIM due to this problem.

I have not heard of any operator disabling SIMs in an effort to get users to register, but maybe they have their eye on you?

possibly you are right and big brother is watching me :D ,also another rumour i heard was that old sims are being scrapped because they cant support new speeds of 3G and possibly 4g which maybe you can connect to if you live in siam paragon :)
Posted Image

#17 bobl

bobl

    Honorary Pita

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,194 posts

Posted 2013-02-04 16:21:50

Register? Pffft.

Been through that bs in Africa. Not until it stops working without being registered. Now all my African sims are registered to Albert M - my driver. :-)

Not that I'm a member of the tinfoil hat brigade, in fact I find them a source of great amusement... I'd register in a minute, if I needed it for anything (top of my head, bills being sent to home for proof of address or whatever), otherwise pffft. For what... to feed some bureaucrat's notion that it's necessary, like a bomber is going to be stopped by having to register his sim. Please.





Sponsored By:

Quick Navigation  View New Content Site search: