BANGKOK 22 October 2018 10:07
Cjmd95

Can I teach in Thailand?

Hi, first time poster; read through the stickies but could do with some more specific advice on my particular situation.

I'm currently in Thailand travelling with my girlfriend; I've saved around £3,000 myself and she has about twice that herself. We're planning to spend the next month or so travelling through a bit of SE Asia; currently a week in and arrived in Koh Tao and we're planning to cross into Malaysia and loop through Cambodia before ending at Chiang Mai.

It's my first time outside Europe and I'm loving it; I quit my job in the UK and so I'm hoping I could maybe set up in Chiang Mai as an EFL teacher. I graduated in English Language and Linguistics last year from a good UK university, and last summer I did a 120 hour in-classroom TEFL course in France. However, I wasn't able to complete the course due to personal issues and so never received my certificate (the operators of the course we're very unsympathetic but that's all water under the bridge) - all that said, I completed all the training aside from submitting a 1-to-1 project; did 6 observed teaching lessons and passed them all, and my degree trained me expertly on the technical aspects of the language.

All this considered, what is my likelihood of securing a job on the basis of my degree alone? I could confidently execute a demo lesson if a school required and am essentially fully trained, though I don't know if it'd be worth trying to explain my TEFL situation to a potential employer.

Thanks in advance! 

Yes.  I would say there is every chance of securing a job in Thailand through an agency.   But the conditions and pay are lousy, and maybe wait until you are somewhere else.  Online teaching might suit.

Posted (edited)
7 hours ago, mommysboy said: