BANGKOK 22 October 2018 11:45
Jingthing

U.S. topic: Interactive Brokers possibly an expat friendly brokerage and IRA account firm

I've been using Interactive Brokers for about 20 years. I began touting here for expats about 15 years ago. I had assumed that with all of its advantages that most people were using it by now. I haven't used it from Thailand for about 5 years now so things may have changed. When last I did transfers to Thailand from IB were a flat $10.  They were pushing some piece of hardware at that time a "security device" but I managed to duck that for a number of years.  If you are a trader, IB makes markets and has data and platforms for just about every financial instrument in every major market on Earth, done in whatever currency you prefer.

I use Etrade and am still in the USA.  I am not aware of Etrade having large issues with expats living overseas.  I certainly heard nightmares about Vanguard and Fidelity as brokerages.

IB is the best brokerage firm I've ever used.  Highly recommended.  

Also, if you're American then you really need to look into Charles Schwab Bank.  Their high yield investor checking account has no ATM fees and reimburses fees from other ATMs, including overseas.  Those 200 THB ATM surcharges were all credited back to my account at the end of the month, in addition to the foreign currency conversion charge.  Free checks too.

• Like 1

I have not had any trouble with Fidelity, but I use a US address.

• Like 1

For example?

They’ve always been great for me.

They are actively threatening me to either freeze or close my account which as it's an IRA would be devastating to me tax wise. Do some research. Fidelity is the worst.  

To add I've been with them for about 40 years. Infidelity would be a more apt name.