getithere328

Has the Darkside lost it’s sparkle?

I’ve been visiting Thailand since 2004 and over that time I have done the bright lights of central Pattaya and the other delights on offer. As time went on I found that the Darkside, particularly lake Mabprachan, was a nicer place to spend my time.

My last visit was in 2014, I did notice that the lake has changed then, the bars seemed to be struggling, no doubt the poor exchanged rate (even worse now) didn’t help their cause given the amount of expats there.

However, I enjoyed a good few nights around the lake and particularly liked the Venue bar. From what I hear, the Venue has closed due to the new motorway and the lake is pretty much dead.

I’d be interested in hearing what peoples options are about Lake Mabprachan as it is today. I’m due to come over in July and wondering whether to stay around the lake or give it a miss.

If anyone has any pictures of the new road near the old Venue bar then that would be much appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Thailand Forum - Thaivisa mobile app

I always thought that the darkside stopped way before the lake.

The main advantage of the lake, as far as I can see, is that it has no bars. As such, I would not mind moving there. Any increase in the number of bars or other entertainment venues just makes it less attractive to me.

• Like 1

If u have kids then living across Sukumvit makes sense otherwise it doesn’t.

I only feel comfortable in Jomtien very near the beach..

• Like 1

I did hear that a Shopping Mall is being built there soon. Of course Pattaya needs another one.

Sent from my iPhone using Thaivisa Connect

• Like 1

1 hour ago, KittenKong said:

I always thought that the darkside stopped way before the lake.

The main advantage of the lake, as far as I can see, is that it has no bars. As such, I would not mind moving there. Any increase in the number of bars or other entertainment venues just makes it less attractive to me.