Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

mgbcnx

U.s. Federal Income Tax Preparer

28 posts in this topic

Does anybody know of an American living in Chiang Mai who has had long experience preparing Federal income tax returns--and, for a "consideration," accepts new clients? My return for 2012 is fairly straightforward, but I hesitate to do it myself.

Any recommendations?

If you haven't tried any of the online software (TurboTax, etc.), you might find this is all you need if your situation is indeed 'straight forward'. Millions of satisfied users every tax filing season, and if they weren't accurate and reliable, they wouldn't be in business. Plus they are cheap inexpensive.

If you are named Mitt Romney, then you best find a tax pro.

I agree with the TurboTax suggestion. I have been using it for years with no problems.

If you are named Mitt Romney, then you best find a tax pro.

Same if your name is Timothy Geithner

I've been using Taxact since 2007. It is easy, reliable and the federal version is free.

If none of the above suit you Lanny Williams in Bangkok may be able to work something out with you via e-mail etc.

Contact info on Bangkok Embassy web site

Unless you have a complex tax situation, TurboTax is as easy as it gets. For the vast majority of Americans, the IRS simply compares what you send with what they already know, which is just about everything, and send you a corrective notice if your calculations don't match up to theirs. For most Americans there is no justification for spending the time and money to fill out the 1040, but certain people, from the accounting industry to H&R. Block to Intuit, do profit from the pointlessness of filling out the 1040 and lobby strongly against the idea of the government sending out a tax bill without need to fill out the forms.

1 person likes this