Thailand Visa Forum by Thai Visa | The Nation
kerrymorton

Web Design Course - Thailand

Sounds like fun.

I hope you know you can't learn web design in a year. You can get a bachelor's degree in it and still be a beginner on the job.

If you've never seen it, right-click on this page and choose "view page source" or similar. You will see all of the html, css, javascript etc. that went into just this page, and that's ignoring the database that holds all of the posts and threads and other information that can be found.

Then there is the web store where people can buy something, put it into a cart and check out with a credit card or even paypal. That's a different kind of website.

So in a year in a good class you'd get an introduction to it, but you'd have a long way to go for a career.

Yes thanks I am aware I cannot learn it all in one year. I am just looking to learn some new skills about web design not to make a career of it. More for my own enjoyment.

As a web developer I would say that there is very little on offer in Thailand in terms of decent web development education. Look around at the sites. There are 1 or 2 good sites but they are, on the whole, outdated and they still believe Flash is applicable. Of the people in my circles I can recommend one Thai business that might be able to point you in the right direction.

http://www.joomlacorner.com/

If anybody knows, they will.

I learnt the basics of Wordpress by attending a course at Web Courses Bangkok. It was over a year ago now but at the time the guy who runs, Carl, was trying to get the course officially recognised by the MOE so that they could start to offer Ed-Visas, not sure if he did or not but it was an excellent course and Carl is a nice guy and good teacher.

• Like 2

Know good things about Carl but not much else here. You will find several schools that are MOE approved and offer a mix of language and computer courses, but I doubt you would learn much of use....