Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

tartempion

Formula To Calculate Btu For Aircon?

24 posts in this topic

What is the formula to calculate required BTU for airconditioning?

I have a 4*5*2.8m bedroom, approx 60m3

I did build a double westwall and will insulate the ceiling with fiberglass, that should reduce electricity bill.

Thanks.

I have been told a couple of times now by seperate aircon guys, multiply the area by 700.....so 60sqm x 700 = 42,000

Thats a big sucker ?? I just saw you said 60 cubic meters, so if the bedroom is 4m x 5m = 20sqm x 700 = 14000btu, thats more like it.

hi ya i was a plumber in the uk i now its differant but sure same applies . when working out radiator btu requirements we used a thing called a meires calculator (like a little disc) which takes into accont room size structure of walls floors ect iam sure air con engineers use similar diffice as formula is very complex beat of luck

Some of the variables include glass windows (and whether the glass is insulated), curtains, exposure to the south or west, whether areas outside the area to be cooled are also cooled, thickness of insulation, humidity conditions, etc.

I had a huge room with roughly 10 square meters of thin glass facing west, another 15 sq. mt. of glass facing north and east, two showers, etc. I decided not to buy 59,000 BTU of air con.

That's the beauty of Japan.

Each house/apartment has floor plans and how many tatamis each room covers. In print and schemes.

Aircons have the stickers on them what they are capable to heat/cool.

Just faxed to the shop what I have and adequate hardware came in, their staff mounted it and all perfect. No tips, just their job.