Thailand Visa Forum by Thai Visa | The Nation
SunsetT

Implications of a retirement visa for Winter visits only.

I have been wintering for 6 months in Thailand (early October to early April)  for many years on Tourist visas but I will be UK retired at 65 before next Winter. I wish to continue this routine but am now weighing up my visa options and contemplating getting an extension of stay based on  retirement, or whatever you call it. I  am aware of the financial requirements but I would like advice please on the implications and complications of doing this in my situation, e.g., the best time to apply for it after I arrive in October to avoid its annual renewal, which Im told falls slightly earlier every year, falling while I am in the UK during the Summer, or whether, if it did, it could/would be delayed anyway until I returned to Thailand in October. Also would a 1k thb 'leave of absence', I forget what its officially called, cover my 6 mths in the UK? Also would holding this retirement status in Thailand make me'officially'  ineligible for UK pension increases or would I have to hide this from the UK authorities?

As other alternatives to SETVs or an METV, can I now at 65 apply and get each year either a multiple-entry 'O' or 'O-A' Non-immigrant visa from London, or do they only issue single-entry visas to convert to retirement?

All relevant info. and good advice will be much appreciated. Thank you.

Im looking forward to advice as im doing the same thing but from the united states. If i get a retirement visa or longstay oa visa here, that becomes effective in october when i arrive, it will expire before i return again the following october.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Thailand Forum - Thaivisa mobile app

• Like 1