Thailand Visa Forum by Thai Visa | The Nation
Phatbeets

Frustrated About Traffic In Bangkok

Phatbeets    62

----- First I got to say sorry for this longwinded post, ha! -----

I've been coming yearly to Bangkok since 2005 where I met my wife in 2006.

We have a lot of Thai friends all around the city and I would say I kind of "understand" this city means I'm pretty familiar with its areas,  assets and drawbacks.

It was always clear for me that If I'd relocate to Thailand one day (Im nearly 35) it could only be in BKK – because I love this city.

So last year I told my boss to prepare a plan to relocate me in an office of my company here (Chatuchak District).

During this year's vacation I told my tuk tuk friend to drive me around in order to extensively check out Saphan Khwai village, Ladprao area, Bang Sue etc (condos, grocery, eatery, shopping, entertainment)

So we did that 3 days long and every time when coming back I had a film of oil on my skin + inhaled more shit than in 5 years here in Germany.

I know that this a congested part of the city but since this area would have to be my new home it does not make things any better. 

Two other marking events of the last trip were

-a 14h travel, Si Sa ket to BKK with the bus  (train and plain were full) – admittedly it was after a Buddhist bank holiday and ill never make this mistake again ;)

-Also in BKK I once needed 2h from lumpini to banglampoo

The reason is clear for me: Everybody - and I mean literally everybody needs to own a car regardless if they actually can afford one or not.

Sometime they take a 10 year loan to get one. Its clearly a "face" thing - if you don’t own one you're a nobody and this is epidemic across Asia (china, cambo, laos, etc).

Only the viets are smart enough to stick to motorbikes. All my friends in BKK told me that traffic its getting worse every year.